Just say YES

It always seems that I just become to busy around Christmas time, and particularly this year because of all my school work. I’m so relieved to say that I only have two more days of school before the Christmas holidays and I can finally relax.

But anyway, the point of me writing this post was to inspire some of you to do something out of your comfort zone. Now I’m a very shy and reserved person and I applied for the student council in my school, which means getting up to speak to the whole school of around 600 people in the election assembly. Every year I saw the grade 11’s give their speeches of why they should be on the student council team and I never in a million years thought that I would put myself forward for this. I applied for publicity officer, which basically means that you publicize events, write about them and take pictures etc. I want to be a journalist when I’m older and this seemed to fit it so well.

Writing this a week later, I still can’t believe that I volunteered for this position and to speak in front of waaaaayy too many people in an assembly. I did end up getting the job, because I turned out to be the only person running for it (I still did have to speak in front of the school though). I thought that the moral of this is to just go for it because you never know what might happen and the feeling afterwards is something that I will never forget. I’m so proud for going for it and I think I would have looked back in the future and really regretted not taking this opportunity. JUST SAY YES MORE OFTEN, YOU NEVER KNOW WHERE IT WILL TAKE YOU.

All the love.

Leave a Reply

